Please click below to read
IXAS New Paid membership

Past IXAS-EC Elections

NOTE: The text below has become obsolete with the new  bylaws in November 2016.

The IXAS-EC consists of twelve voting members including three officers (Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer/Secretary). The officers are elected at-large, and nine other voting members, six of whom will be elected by geographical region and three of whom will be elected at-large (Bylaws). The Vice Chair will serve for three years and then become Chair for three years. The Secretary/Treasurer and other elected members will serve for six years. Elections will be held every three years (prior to the conference) using the procedures described in the following. A Nominating Committee consisting of seven members will be appointed by the Chair. Memberships will be staggered so that approximately one half of the total membership will be chosen at each election. Newly elected members and officers will assume their offices at the Executive Committee meeting held at the International Conference. The Nominating Committee shall be guided by the recommendations of the Executive Committee regarding the scientific and geographic distribution of the society in order to achieve the most representative membership of the Executive Committee possible.
At least two names shall be nominated for each position to be elected on the electronic ballot. Members to be elected by geographical region will be pre-elected by the XAS community within the region.

Taking EC election 2009 (XAFS14) as an example, details of procedure are described below.

EC election 2009 took place prior to XAFS2009 according to the following procedures.

IXAS Election Ballot 2009

The following EC positions are up for election.

Vice Chair (vote for 1 to fill vacancy)
Position 2 (North America) (vote for 1 to replace Grant Bunker)
Position 4 (Europe) (vote for 1 to replace Elisabeth Holub-Krappe)
Position 8 (At large) (vote for 1 to replace Toshihiko Yokoyama)
Position 9 (Other regions) (vote for 1 to replace Ziyu Wu)

The call for the EC election was put on the IXAS web in January, 2009. The schematic flow of the EC election process is illustrated in the figure below. The IXAS Nominating Committee (Table 2), responsible for the election procedure, received nominations and organizes the evaluation materials (cv and recommendation letters etc.) from the EC members. The EC selected the top two (maximum three) candidates by pre-election among the EC members, and recommended the final candidates to the nominating committee for e-voting. All registered IXAS members are eligible to vote electronically. The on-line voting is managed by the nominating committee. Andrea Di Cicco, currently responsible for the web system, was responsible for the electronic voting in the EC election 2009. The new office with the updated EC members (Table 3) started on July 31st, 2009.


Step 1: Nomination by the EC members with evaluation materials.
Step 2: Nominating Committee circulates evaluation materials to the EC.
Step 3: The EC selects maximum three candidates.
Step 4: Nominating Committee carries out general voting.
Step 5: Results are reported to the EC and the new EC is formed.


Table 1. Officers and members of previous IXAS EC (20006-2009)

Full Name
Andrea Di Cicco
(co-chair of XAFS 14)
Chair 2006-2009
Hiroyuki Oyanagi Vice Chair 2006-2009
Julie Cross Treasurer 2006-2015
Adriano Filipponi (at large) EC Mmeber 1 2006-2015
Grant Bunker
(Chair of Education and Dissemination Committee)
EC Mmeber 2 2003-2009
Matt Newville (NA) EC Mmeber 3 2006-2015
Elisabeth Holub-Krappe EC Mmeber 4 2003-2009
Pieter Glatzel (EU) EC Mmeber 5 2006-2015
Bruce Ravel (at large) EC Mmeber 6 2006-2015
Mark Ridgway EC Mmeber 7 2006-2015
Toshihiko Yokoyama EC Mmeber 8 2003-2009
Ziyu Wu EC Mmeber 9 2003-2009

* EC consists of 3 officers and 9 voting members (6 regional and 3 at large), IXAS Bylaws.


Table 2. Members of IXAS EC Nomination committee*

Full Name
Hiroyuki Oyanagi Chair, Member 1 2006-2009
Julie Cross Member 2  
Adriano Filipponi Member 3  
Bruce Ravel Member 4  
Toshihiko Yokoyama Member 5  
Ziyu Wu Member 6 Chair of XAFS15
Andrea Di Cicco Member 7 Current Chair, Chair of XAFS14

*7 members to be appointed by the Chair in consultation with the EC, IXAS Bylaws.


Table 3. Officers and members of the current IXAS EC (as of July 31, 2009)


Full Name / Position
Instutution / CountryTerm
Hiroyuki Oyanagi
Photonics Research Institute, AIST, 1-1-1 Umezono, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8568, Japan 2009-2012
Bruce Bunker
Vice Chair
Department of Physics University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN 46556, USA 2009-2012
Julie Cross
Argonne National Laboratory, 9700 South Cass Ave., Bldg. 401/B4204, Argonne 60439, USA 2006-2012

EC Members

Adriano Filipponi
EC Member 1, (At large)
Department of Physics , University of L'Aquila, piazza Vincenzo Rivera 1, 67100 L'Aquila, Italy 2006-2012
Ingrid Pickering
EC Member 2, (NA)
Department of Geological Sciences University of Saskatchewan, 114 Science Place, Saskatoon, SK S7N 5E2 Canada 2009-2015
Matt Newville
EC Member 3, (NA)
APS, 9700 South Cass Avenue, Bldg. 434A, Argonne, IL 60439, USA 2006-2012
Paola D'Angelo
EC Member 4, (EU)
Department of Chemistry, University "La Sapienza" of Rome, P.le A. Moro 5, Rome 00185, Italy 2009-2015
Pieter Glatzel
EC Member 5, (EU)
ESRF, 6 Rue Jules Horowitz BP220, 38043, Grenoble, France 2006-2012
Bruce Ravel
EC Member 6, (At large)
Synchrotron Methods Group, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, NY 11973, USA 2006-2012
Mark Ridgway
EC Member 7, (Other regions)
Australian National Univ. Canberra ACT 0200, Australia 2006-2012
Kiyotaka Asakura
EC Member 8, (At large)
Catalysis Research Center, Hokkaido University, Kita 21-10, Kita-ku, Sapporo 001-0021, Japan 2009-2015
Gustavo Azevedo
EC Member 9, (Other Regions)
LNLS - Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory, Caixa Postal 6192, CEP 13083-971, Campinas, SP, Brazil 2009-2015
Ziyu Wu
XAFS15 Chair
University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, Anhui 230026, P.R.China 2009-2015
Andrea Di Cicco
Università di Camerino, Via Madonna delle Carceri, 62032 Camerino (MC), Italy 2009-2015

* EC consists of 3 officers and 9 voting members (6 regional and 3 at-large), IXAS Bylaws.